A Warning To Christian Apologists

1 Peter 3:15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

Speak The Truth In Love

The most common scripture I see quoted concerning Christian apologetics and “giving a defense” is the one above. Unfortunately, there’s a key word “meekness”, that on occasion, gets overlooked. I have to admit that even though I’ve only been doing apologetics for about four years now, I haven’t always been meek in my approach when discussing various issues with people. Even recently I took a three month break from Facebook to evaluate my thoughts, approach etc. It can be very easy to get jaded when doing apologetics, especially when dealing with the hecklers and those hateful types that curse you and twist your words. It takes humility to withstand some of these lashings without firing back with similar low blows.

What really saddens me is when I see/hear the veterans -that have been doing this for decades- and witness some of these ones having bad attitudes. To be honest, it’s discouraging to see this kind of behavior. Due to my sarcastic personality, perhaps some have thought this about me too. I’m always trying to keep myself in check with this, especially in text (audio is a lot easier to convey my goofiness) where my banter may be perceived as arrogance or mocking. For some, no matter how you approach them, if you ruffle their feathers e. g. challenge their worldview, they’ll be clucking regardless. We must keep in the forefront our mission, is it to belittle people, just win an argument, or defend the faith in love? I hope it’s the latter.

About Razor Swift

Rich Christian who is the founder of Razor Swift, seeks to open hearts and minds through the platform of apologetics. It's his desire to approach Biblical, faith, and other issues from a different perspective rather than just preaching to the choir in the Christianese dialect. He maintains that faith and reason mustn’t necessarily be at odds with each other, but can be complementary. May no stone lay unturned.
This entry was posted in Apologetics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Warning To Christian Apologists

  1. Gloria Davis says:

    I agree. You can win a “skirmish” and have so much collateral damage that you end up losing the war. Even correct information, if it is not seasoned with love and kindness, tends to be like an inoculation against what you’re proposing -rather than an invitation to join in.

Comments are closed.