What Would Atheists Accept As Evidence For God? (Video)

Description: I would like the Atheists out there to define what they would accept as evidence for God. Different people have different opinions and criteria for evidence. So, I would like to hear those different ideas.

About Razor Swift

Rich Christian who is the founder of Razor Swift, seeks to open hearts and minds through the platform of apologetics. It's his desire to approach Biblical, faith, and other issues from a different perspective rather than just preaching to the choir in the Christianese dialect. He maintains that faith and reason mustn’t necessarily be at odds with each other, but can be complementary. May no stone lay unturned.
This entry was posted in Atheism, Razor Swift Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Would Atheists Accept As Evidence For God? (Video)

  1. That depends entirely on what kind of God you are claiming exists and what sort of abilities/features he/she/it is claimed to have. Once I have that information, I can give you a good answer.

  2. De Brevitate Vitae says:

    1. People start coming back from the dead, all of which state that God (I’m assuming Christin) exists. Their identity is confirmed by DNA evidence so that we know who they are and can verify they had been dead for an arbitrary time such as a week or more.
    2. Natural disasters, lightning, etc. become selective and only harm people who are non-believers or are of a different faith.
    3. All Christians get super powers, such as unassisted flight or something otherwise physically impossible.
    4. Christian prayer is scientifically shown to have a large statistically significant effect on something. (Curing illness, world peace, no more starving people, etc)
    5. If the mountains changed shape overnight to spell out ‘Jesus is God’ or something that no man could possibly do.

    So, overall, something that goes beyond the capabilities of man, that is selective as to the specific religion and people effected, and that could be tested for validity or at least observed first hand.

    Don’t know if this is what you’re looking for, but these things would definitely convince me!

  3. razorswift says:

    De Brevitate Vitae,

    Thank you for your comment. You have given me some things to think about. Take care now!

  4. snakeskinner says:

    I believe that notascientist has a very good point. The nature and character of God will largely determine how He would manifest himself. Of course if you don’t know the nature of God then you don’t know what to look for. Well maybe not. If I may sum up what I believe Vitae is saying the characteristics of a God that would show His existence in this way would be a God that only takes care of His believers or followers and doesn’t give a rip about the rest. It also shows He has a “need” to make sure we know damm well that He IS and we had better get that through our thick skulls. Does that sound accurate? I don’t want to analysis this all out other than to say a God like that makes me uncomfortable.
    That leads me to a another question. Why even look for a God? I could also ask, what kind of God would I want to find? If this God is distant and doesn’t care, is flawed with say typical human frailties (think Greek and Roman gods) or had a cruel streak I would hope to not find a God like that. I would hope to go unknown and unnoticed.
    I hope to post in a few days what the characteristics of a God I would look for, and perhaps more importantly, follow. I realize this may just be an intellectual volleyball match for some of you but if there really is a God and we really are His creation this is a question of literally life and death. It brings in to question our value as individuals or lack thereof, the ‘meaning of life’, and just what in the heck happens at death. I don’t think there is a more important question to know the answer to.

    • De Brevitate Vitae says:

      Snakeskinner, you make some good points. I too agree that this is a very important issue. I also find it interesting from a psychological perspective; that different groups of people can be ‘so sure’ they are correct.

      I would say that points 2 & 3 would describe a god who, as you mention, “would be a God that only takes care of His believers or followers and doesn’t give a rip about the rest.” I agree with that point. However, I would suggest that I would still be convinced of this kind of god’s existence regardless of whether or not I like his personality or flaws.

      Points 1, 4, and 5, I would say could still be accomplished by and all-loving God. I realize this is my opinion, but I would think a God who loves everyone would “make sure we know damm well that He IS” when the consequences of non-belief are an eternity of pain, suffering, and torture in hell. In other words, you wouldn’t stop a blind man from walking off a cliff because you ‘need’ him to like you. You’d stop him because it’s the ‘good’ thing to do.

  5. snakeskinner says:

    That may very well be the crux of the whole argument. Clearly in this world something has gone terribly wrong. Wars, famine, disease, crime and on it goes with no real hope of it ever ending. And as if that wasn’t bad enough there is the specter of hell, what ever that is, but it sure doesn’t sound very good. If God is all powerful and is all good why doesn’t He do something!!!! It is no mystery why so many religions have sprung up all looking to get a handle on this and provide people with a deep need for some hope.

    This takes me back to the character of God. The mere existence of God to my way of thinking isn’t even the point although it needs to be answered, but can I trust this God if He is found? If I cannot then I am just as bad off as before. So I do the best I can than I die hoping just maybe it will be alright? That is very depressing! I have not studied this but I believe that this philosophy is at the heart of existentialism. This is a painful world. If God does not exist or if He cannot be trusted then when times get tough just check out. It really doesn’t matter.

    I generally agree that your points 1,4, and 5 don’t necessarily preclude an all-loving God but it is a very dramatic “in your face” revealing. So why doesn’t God do this, assuming He really is out there somewhere? Why doesn’t He get off His Holy kister and do something? Either He isn’t there or He isn’t all good and powerful, or He has a good reason, or maybe we are completely reading this all wrong and are missing something. I vote for the last one.

    I still think it gets back to just who this God is. I want to apologize for not spelling out yet my view on the character of God just yet. I have a trip coming up next week with a ton of prep work. I will get to it but it may not be for a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

