The Divorce Of Theism

Rolling Wedding Ring

Photo Attribution: Wikipedia

On The March

As time goes on there seems to be an ever growing number of militant atheists that are on the march against God and religion. Though I feel this article could be directed at atheism as a whole (at least on some level) but I’m specifically addressing these militant types for today. Some of you may be wondering what I mean by “militant atheist”. I’m speaking of those that are hateful, obnoxious, rude, quick to judge and call names etc. Here’s a passage that sums it up: This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God. [1]

Through the years I’ve been engaged in discussion/debate with numerous atheists, I don’t think that all are rude and inconsiderate. That is not what I’m saying here. I have met some respectful atheists that are enjoyable to converse with, that I thoroughly enjoy their sentiment. However, from my experience (key word “my”), the respectful ones seem to be the minority. If you’re an atheist reading this, you’re probably thinking that about “religionists”. I do realize that there are many dogmatic zealots that are only looking to talk but not listen. On the behalf of them, I’m sorry; I know I have been guilty of that too. Now back to the issue I’m not hunting rabbits right now. It seems that for some of these militant atheists, that, no matter how you speak to them they jump all over you. I don’t mind a discussion filled with banter and even sarcasm (I’m rather goofy and sarcastic myself), but it’s the vitriolic below the belt kind of stuff that I’m speaking of. The classic appeal to ridicule will not help facilitate a meaningful discussion.

Appeal To Emotion

Here’s an analogy that I think that fits the militant atheist. They remind me of an individual that has gone through a painful divorce, and subsequently, this divorcee lashes out against the institution of marriage. Rather than taking into consideration that he married the wrong person -the reason for his woes- or perhaps he himself needed to change his behavior, the crosshair is aimed at the wrong target and the bullets fly. I have met people like this that are bitter about marriage itself (my caveat, I do understand that this analogy -comparing marriage to religion- does break down to a point). I will not deny that there are indeed abusive people in all kinds of religions (I would argue that there are abusive religions), but I’m not here to defend the various religions out there, I’m here to speak of mine; Christianity.

While I recognize that there are people that abuse the Bible and their position as a pastor etc for their sinister purpose, this reality does not change whether the claims of Christianity are true or not. These claims of old will stand or fall on their own merit. Because one has been wronged by a Christian, a church, a denomination etc, this does not assume that the institution in and of itself is to be shunned. When coming from a position of pain, it’s natural to lash out in such a manner that validates our hurt. In closing, coming from the perspective of a Christian, Biblically speaking Christianity is more than just an institution, or organization, it’s an organism that makes up the body of Christ. [2] It’s the only marriage that will extend on into eternity. [3] Mere ritualistic religion will not get you there, it’s the relationship with him that ties the knot.

___________________________

Endnotes

1. (King James Version) 2 Timothy 3:1-4

2. Roman 12: 5 So we, being many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another.

3. Revelation 19:7 Let us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him: for the marriage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready.

About Razor Swift

Rich Christian who is the founder of Razor Swift, seeks to open hearts and minds through the platform of apologetics. It's his desire to approach Biblical, faith, and other issues from a different perspective rather than just preaching to the choir in the Christianese dialect. He maintains that faith and reason mustn’t necessarily be at odds with each other, but can be complementary. May no stone lay unturned.
This entry was posted in Atheism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Divorce Of Theism

  1. Eva says:

    Hi razorswift, I’d just like to clarify one thing. I’m an atheist. I didn’t had any bad experience with church. I’m just simply not capable to believe in anything (gods, fairies, unicorns, UFOs, alternative medicine…)if there is not a sufficient evidence for it

  2. razorswift says:

    “Hi razorswift, I’d just like to clarify one thing. I’m an atheist. I didn’t had any bad experience with church.”
    >>>

    I do understand that different people have different reasons why they are atheist. However, some will use their being treated badly by such and such church in support of their disdain for God/religion as a whole. I’m not using a broad paintbrush stroke here, nevertheless it does apply to some of these militant types. It’s great to hear that you are not one of them. Thanks for reading.

Comments are closed.